Day 1

Tomorrow is commencement for the kids, graduation for me.

All of the to-do’s on the to-do list have been done, desk emptied out and cork-board pictures–a firefighter headed up the stairs of the Twin Towers, the residue of the Big Bang, Malala Yousafzai and all the others–
placed in a folder destined for another cork board but this one at home. Two sets of keys to security and, notwithstanding tomorrow’s events, a few more paychecks and a couple of other details, I AM RETIRED!

When I started this blog a couple of years ago, my thought was that this would be a good way of keeping track of what would be happening during this new stage and getting the most out of the experience. That’s still what I’m thinking so it’s time to start. Egocentric? Maybe…well, yes…but no one needs to read it. Writing it in this form is my way of pushing myself to write it.

So today is Day 1, a preview showing of a spectacular exhibit at LACMA, From Van Gough to Kandinsky, looking at the interplay of the French and German schools in the years leading up to World War I, lots of beautiful work I’ve never seen before. If today had been yesterday, I would have been at the desk in my office. A good start.

20140605-193607-70567683.jpg

About dhinden

Retired teacher and lawyer. I live with my wife Lucie in Los Angeles and Paciano, Italy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment