Trump, Barr and the Mueller Report

My take on Barr and the Mueller Report:

This investigation had to be done once it was unanimously concluded by our intelligence agencies that the Russians had interfered in our election and weighed their fingers on the scale in favor of Trump. Was anyone in the Trump campaign involved in this? Was Trump himself involved? These questions screamed to be answered, and our institutions of government responded appropriately. We had an honest, thorough investigation and I accept the results. I am relieved to know that Trump apparently is not a Russian agent or asset, but there were ample reasons to ask the question and it was essential to answer it.

I have no problems with Barr spinning the Report the way he has. He is a political appointee and an arm of the Executive, ie., Trump. He is not a judge and not bound to be impartial. He is bound to let the process work the way it is supposed to work, and as far as I am concerned, he has. We are seeing the entire report subject to very light redactions which aren’t going to change the essence of what is reported. Jumping up and down about the 6e redactions is a distraction; count me out on that.

As far as the obstruction of justice, there is insufficient evidence to expect any possibility of an impeachment and conviction. So, we can all believe what we want, but votes aren’t going to be changed over that issue, so it’s time to move on.

The “spying” and “coup” stuff we’re going to hear from Trump and his supporters is BS. The purpose of this investigation was to answer questions that needed to be answered, and that’s been done to my satisfaction. Trump is a despicable human being who brings out the worst in our political system. For now I am relieved that our institutions have functioned the way they are supposed to function and look forward to doing my part to rid us of Trump in 2020.

About dhinden

Retired teacher and lawyer. I live with my wife Lucie in Los Angeles and Paciano, Italy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment